Print page
Integration-related development and media prizes to be awarded


A competition for development and media awards for projects initiated in the field of integration in 2014 has been launched by the Integration and Migration Foundation in association with the Ministry of Culture.

The awards will once again be presented in three categories.
In the first category, nominations are open to projects and activities designed to promote or help preserve the cultures of the ethnic groups living in Estonia. Two awards will be presented in this category, each worth 1000 euros.

In the second category, nominations are open to joint activities that support integration and thereby enrich and bolster Estonia’s cultural space. The Integration Foundation and the Ministry of Culture are also encouraging anyone whose activities have fostered contact between nationalities and supported the generation of a common information space to enter in this category. Two awards will be presented in it, each worth 1000 euros.

In the third category, youth projects will vie for two awards worth 1000 euros. Nominations are awaited in regard to joint activities organised by and for young people, led by Estonian residents up to 26 years of age and in which young Estonians and young people of other nationalities living in Estonia have taken part together.

In addition to the development awards, the Integration Foundation will also be presenting three media awards, each again worth 1000 euros. Nominations are open to journalists, media channels and media publications that have made a significant contribution to the valuing of intercultural understanding and tolerance in the media.

The assessment committee will consider the diversity of coverage of the topic of integration when making its decision. Projects from both Estonian- and Russian-language media channels are awaited.

Nominations must be submitted online (in Estonian, using the development or media award nomination form available on the Integration Foundation’s website) by 23 April. The competition guidelines and terms and conditions can be found here.

The development and media awards, which were issued as grants until 2013, are public prizes that are designed to recognise advancements in the field of integration and reporting on the integration process in the media. The awards are financed from the state budget via the Ministry of Culture.

For further information please contact:
Natalja Kitam
Integration and Migration Foundation
Telephone: +372 659 9061